icNET Fieldbus Solutions

Protocol stacks for embedded systems

Today, field buses are used in various applications in industrial automation, automotive industry and medical technology to distribute control signals to actuators and status information from sensors in a networked system.

IBV offers software solutions for industrial communication under the brand icNET. In countless customer projects, IBV has gained experience with various field bus systems. Based on this experience, software products were designed and developed – especially for the use on embedded systems. With the icNET software solutions from IBV you can integrate a tested implementation into your product and bring it faster and cheaper to market.

EtherCAT

EtherCAT (Ethernet for Control Automation Technology) is an Ethernet-based fieldbus system, invented by Beckhoff Automation. The protocol is standardized in IEC 61158 and is suitable for both hard and soft real-time computing requirements in automation.

The EtherCAT standard is defined by the EtherCAT Technology Group (ETG). IBV is member of the ETG since 2008.

  • Cyclic task for process data (real-time critical):
    • short cycle times (≤ 100 µs)
    • low jitter for exact synchronization (≤ 1 µs)
  • Acyclic task for parameterization, maintenance and tunneling of other protocols
  • All slaves can exchange input and output data in a single Ethernet frame.
  • Low hardware costs: A master can be realized with standard Ethernet hardware.

Software Solution

TSN

TSN is a set of Ethernet sub-standards of the IEEE 802.1 TSN Task Group. TSN aims to standardize features on OSI layer 2 so that different protocols can share the same infrastructure. The challenge here is the optimal configuration for time-critical and non-critical traffic so that neither real-time behavior nor throughput is affected.

  • Guaranteed latency for real-time critical data across the entire network
  • Real-time critical and non-critical traffic can be transmitted over a common network
  • Higher protocol layers can share a common network infrastructure
  • No dependence on one manufacturer
Some important core elements of TSN are defined in the following standards:

  • IEEE802.1AS: Time Synchronization
  • IEEE802.1Qbv: Time-Aware Scheduler
  • IEEE802.1Qbu: Frame Preemption

Further information about TSN

Software Solution

Ethernet POWERLINK

Ethernet POWERLINK is a real-time Ethernet communication protocol for transmitting real-time data in the range of microseconds. The main application is the transmission of process data in automation technology.

Ethernet POWERLINK was originally developed by B&R Industrial Automation and is now further developed and specified as an open standard by the open user and supplier group EPSG (Ethernet POWERLINK Standardization Group). IBV is a member of the Ethernet POWERLINK Standardization Group (EPSG) since 2017.

The main features of Ethernet POWERLINK are

  • the guaranteed transmission of time-critical data in very short isochronous cycles with configurable timing
  • the transmission of less time-critical data in the reserved asynchronous channel
  • the time synchronization of all network nodes

More features and details

Software Solution

CAN

The CAN bus (“Controller Area Network”) was developed by the company BOSCH for the automotive industry with the goal of reducing the cabling effort and thus saving costs. In addition, the bus system is widely used in industrial automation and medical technology, for example.
CAN is standardized internationally as ISO 11898.

  • Cost-effective and robust networking
  • “Multi-master principle”: The participants on the bus have equal rights
  • Broadcast communication: All participants in the network see all messages and can decide which messages are relevant for them based on an identifier.
  • Each message has a priority, determining which information has priority on the bus when transmitted simultaneously. Due to the lossless bus arbitration, a deterministic time behavior can be achieved.

CANopen is a communication protocol for OSI Layer 7 and is used to connect complex devices in a network. Among other things, the protocol defines an object directory at each station, communication objects for parameterization (SDOs) and for the transport of real-time data (PDOs). In addition, it defines device profiles, e.g. for electrical drives, which specify a manufacturer-independent standardization for the functionality and structure of the object dictionary. The CANopen object model is also used in Industrial Ethernet protocols such as EtherCAT or POWERLINK.

The standard is maintained by the organization CAN in Automation (CiA).

Software Solution

  • IBV offers customer specific services in the field of CAN and CANopen and has deep experience with this bus system from various customer projects. More information can be found in the fieldbus technologies section.

Modbus

Modbus is an open standard for client/server communication. It is mainly used in industry to exchange information between measuring and control devices. The transmission takes place via a serial interface (e.g. EIA-485) or via Ethernet. Modbus-TCP is part of the IEC 61158 standard.

  • Simple implementation
  • Open standard

The standard is defined and maintained by the Modbus Organization.

Software Solution

icNET Feldbuslösungen

Protokollstacks für Embedded Systeme

Feldbusse werden heute in verschiedenen Anwendungen der Automatisierungstechnik, Automobilindustrie und Medizintechnik eingesetzt, um Steuerungssignale an Aktoren und Statusinformationen von Sensoren in einem vernetzten System zu verteilen.

Unter der Marke icNET bietet IBV Softwarelösungen für die industrielle Kommunikation an. In unzähligen Kundenprojekten hat IBV Erfahrung mit diversen Feldbussystemen gesammelt. Auf Basis dieser Erfahrungen wurden Softwareprodukte designt und entwickelt – speziell für den Einsatz auf Embedded-Systemen. Mit den icNET Softwarelösungen von IBV können Sie eine getestete Implementierung in Ihr Produkt einbringen und dieses damit schneller und günstiger zur Marktreife führen.

EtherCAT

EtherCAT (Ethernet for Control Automation Technology) ist ein von der Firma Beckhoff Automation initiiertes Echtzeit-Ethernet. Das im IEC-Standard 61158 offengelegte Protokoll eignet sich für harte wie weiche Echtzeitanforderungen in der Automatisierungstechnik.
Der EtherCAT Standard wird durch die EtherCAT Technology Group (ETG) definiert. IBV ist Mitglied in der ETG seit 2008.

  • Zyklischer Task für Prozessdaten (echtzeit-kritisch):
    • kurze Zykluszeiten (≤ 100 µs)
    • niedriger Jitter für exakte Synchronisierung (≤ 1 µs)
  • Azyklischer Task für Parametrierung, Maintenance und Tunneling von anderen Protokollen
  • Alle Slaves können Ein- und Ausgabedaten in einem einzigen Ethernet Frame austauschen.
  • Niedrige Hardwarekosten: Ein Master kann mit einer Standard-Ethernet-Hardware realisiert werden.

Softwarelösung

TSN

TSN ist ein Set an Ethernet Sub-Standards der IEEE 802.1 TSN Task Group. TSN zielt darauf ab, Features auf OSI-Layer 2 zu standardisieren, so dass verschiedene Protokolle sich dieselbe Infrastruktur teilen können. Die Herausforderung liegt dabei in der Konfiguration für den zeitkritischen und nicht-kritischen Datenverkehr, damit weder das Echtzeitverhalten noch der Durchsatz beeinträchtigt werden.

  • Garantierte Latenzzeiten für echtzeit-kritische Daten über das gesamte Netzwerk hinweg
  • Echtzeit-kritischer und nicht-kritischer Datenverkehr kann über ein gemeinsames Netzwerk übertragen werden
  • Höherwertige Protokollschichten können sich eine gemeinsame Netzwerkinfrastruktur teilen
  • Keine Abhängigkeit zu einem Hersteller

Einige wichtige Kern-Elemente von TSN sind in den folgenden Standards definiert:

  • IEEE802.1AS: Time Synchronization
  • IEEE802.1Qbv: Time-Aware Scheduler
  • IEEE802.1Qbu: Frame Preemption

Weitere Informationen zu TSN

Softwarelösung

  • IBV bietet kundenspezifische Dienstleistung im Bereich TSN an. Beispiele finden Sie im Bereich Feldbustechnologien.

Ethernet POWERLINK

Ethernet POWERLINK ist ein Echtzeit-Ethernet-Kommunikationsprotokoll, um Echtzeitdaten im Mikrosekundenbereich zu übertragen. Der Hauptanwendungszweck ist die Übertragung von Prozessdaten in der Automatisierungstechnik.

Ethernet POWERLINK wurde ursprünglich von der Firma B&R Industrial Automation entwickelt und wird heute von der offenen Anwender- und Anbietergruppe EPSG (Ethernet POWERLINK Standardization Group) als offener Standard weiterentwickelt und spezifiziert. IBV ist Mitglied in der Ethernet POWERLINK Standardization Group (ETG) seit 2017.

Die Hauptmerkmale von Ethernet POWERLINK sind:

  • die garantierte Übertragung von zeitkritischen Daten in sehr kurzen isochronen Zyklen mit konfigurierbarem Zeitverhalten
  • die Übertragung des weniger zeitkritischen Datenaufkommens im reservierten asynchronen Kanal
  • die zeitliche Synchronisation aller Netzwerkknoten

Weitere Merkmale und Details

Softwarelösung

CAN

Der CAN-Bus („Controller Area Network“) wurde von der Firma BOSCH für die Automobilindustrie entwickelt mit der Zielsetzung, den Verkabelungsaufwand zu reduzieren und damit Kosten einzusparen. Darüber hinaus findet das Bussystem beispielsweise in der Industrieautomation und Medizintechnik eine weite Verbreitung.
CAN ist als ISO 11898 international standardisiert.

  • Kostengünstige und robuste Vernetzung
  • „Multi-Master-Prinzip“: Die Teilnehmer am Bus sind gleichberechtigt
  • Broadcast Communication: Alle Teilnehmer am Netzwerk sehen alle Messages und können anhand eines Identifiers entscheiden, welche Messages für sie relevant sind.
  • Jede Message hat eine Priorität, die entscheidet, welche Information bei gleichzeitiger Übertragung Vorrang auf dem Bus hat. Durch die verlustlose Busarbitrierung kann damit ein deterministisches Zeitverhalten erreicht werden.

CANopen ist ein Kommunikationsprotokoll für OSI-Layer 7 und dient der Vernetzung von komplexen Geräten. Das Protokoll definiert u. a. ein Objektverzeichnis bei jedem Teilnehmer, Kommunikationsobjekte zur Parametrierung (SDOs) und zum Transport von Echtzeitdaten (PDOs). Darüber hinaus definiert es Geräteprofile z. B. für elektrische Antriebe, die eine herstellerübergreifende Standardisierung für Funktionalität und Aufbau des Objektverzeichnisses festlegen. Das CANopen Objektmodell wird auch in Industrial-Ethernet-Protokollen wie EtherCAT oder POWERLINK verwendet.

Der Standard wird von der Organisation CAN in Automation (CiA) gepflegt.

Softwarelösung

  • IBV bietet kundenspezifische Dienstleistungen im Bereich CAN und CANopen an und hat tiefgehende Erfahrung mit diesem Bussystem aus diversen Kundenprojekten. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Bereich Feldbustechnologien.

Modbus

Modbus ist ein offener Standard für eine Client-/Server-Kommunikation. Er kommt vornehmlich in der Industrie zum Einsatz, um Informationen zwischen Mess- und Regelgeräten auszutauschen. Die Übertragung findet dabei über eine serielle Schnittstelle (z. B. EIA-485) oder über Ethernet statt. Modbus-TCP ist Teil der Norm IEC 61158.

  • Einfache Realisierung
  • Offener Standard

Der Standard wird durch die Modbus Organization gepflegt.

Softwarelösung

  • IBV hat Modbus-Technologie in verschiedenen Kundenprojekten integriert. Weiteres dazu finden Sie im Bereich Feldbustechnologien.